top of page

Crazy about 'Crazy for You' | **** Review


Yesterday, 11th November 2023, I was lucky enough to attend the matinee performance of ‘Crazy for you’ at the Gillian Lynne Theatre in London’s West End. As this was one I purchased off my own back, I did not plan on reviewing this production. However, in light of the recent announcement of the show’s early closure (now ending on 31st December 2023) I decided it would be a great idea to share my thoughts and opinions on the show.


I knew absolutely nothing, bar a couple of songs, going into this - this meant that the storyline and characters were a complete surprise.


In my opinion, this show does not have the most gripping opening. Truly, I believe this can be overlooked as from the second our leading man enters the stage the energy and excitement ramps up. I was lucky enough to see Jack Wilcox (standby) playing ‘Bobby Child’. Jack brings a great level of charisma, energy and personality to the role not to mention the spectacular dance skills and sequences which were nothing short of jaw-dropping.


The rough and tough leading female character, Polly, was beautifully portrayed by Kate Parr (1st Cover). Kate created a character that was so loveable, and easy to get behind as well as some incredibly passionate and stunning vocals.


Seeing two understudies carry a show was an incredible experience and showed the true power and strength that these performers have.


The ensemble numbers feature some exquisite choreography by Susan Stroman, executed perfectly by this wonderfully talented bunch of performers. Pairing this with William Ivey Long’s beautiful costumes, exciting set by Beowulf Boritt and a magnificent live orchestra playing George and Ira Gershwin’s score makes for a fabulous show.


I urge you to grab a ticket to see this unique production before its closure next month, my heart goes out to all involved in this incredible show and I really hope that people can give Crazy for You some sold out audiences before the final curtain.


Thanks for reading my thoughts, If you have seen Crazy for you - let me know what you thought…

If you haven’t, grab a ticket now: https://lwtheatres.co.uk/whats-on/crazy-for-you/


12th November 2023

Robbie Davies | Robbie’s Backstage Bants

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page